Buddha Purnima: Public holiday today. List of cities where the bank will remain closed


Banks will remain closed in various parts of the country today, May 16, due to Buddha Purnima. According to Reserve Bank of India (RBI) public holiday calendar, banks in Tripura, Belapur, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab and Haryana, Uttarakhand, Jammu, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, New Delhi, Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Srinagar would be closed today.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has placed public holidays under three brackets – Public holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act; Public holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act and real-time gross settlement holiday; and closure of bank accounts.

There were a total of 11 public holidays in May 2022, including the second and fourth Saturdays and Sundays.

Other public holidays in May 2022

May 22, 2022: Weekly rest (Sunday)

May 28, 2022: Fourth Saturday

May 29, 2022: Weekly rest (Sunday)

Buddha Purnima, which falls on May 16 this year, marks the birthday of Gautama Buddha. On this day, devotees of Buddha visit temples to listen to monks give lectures and recite ancient verses. Many devotees also wear white robes and eat only vegetarian food on this day.

To subscribe to Mint Bulletins

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.