Is there a public holiday today? Banks will remain closed today in these states; Complete list


Public holidays in May 2022: Banks in all public and private sectors will remain closed in most parts of India on May 3, Tuesday, as there is a public holiday today on the occasion of Eid and Akshaya Tritiya . There are 11 public holidays in May in total, two of which have already been used. Today’s bank holiday will mean there will be eight holidays left for the month for lenders. The RBI, or Reserve Bank of India, has prepared a list of public holidays for the month of May, as it does for all other months. On public holidays notified by the RBI, branches of all public, private, foreign banks, cooperative banks and regional banks remain closed.

Holidays come into effect under three categories, including “Negotiable Instruments Law Holiday”, “Negotiable Instruments Law Holiday and Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday” and “Close Bank Accounts”. A public holiday is effective due to the “bank accounts closing” on April 1, when the majority of banks across the country remain closed, while the “public holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act” categorization records the greatest number of public holidays.

It makes us wonder – is today a public holiday in Delhi, Mumbai and other major cities? Banks will remain closed across India except Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram today on account of Bhagvan Shree Parshuram Jayanti/ Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra)/ Basava Jayanti/ Akshaya Tritiya as per RBI list. There is no public holiday in these two regions as lenders here were closed on May 2 due to Ramjan Eid.

It should also be noted that public holidays vary from region to region, depending on the occasion in each region, as most public holidays come into effect under the Negotiable Instruments Act. For example, banks in Kolkata will be closed on May 9 on Ranbindranath Tagore’s birthday, while there is no public holiday on that day in other parts of the country.

There are four public holidays this month under the Public Holidays Act in the form of negotiable instruments, while the other seven are weekend holidays.

Here is the complete list of public holidays in May 2022 (from May 1, 2022)

List of holidays according to the Public Holidays Act under negotiable securities

May 2nd: Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra) — Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram

May 3: Bhagvan Shree Parshuram Jayanti/ Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra)/ Basava Jayanti/ Akshaya Tritiya — Everywhere in India except Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram

May 9: Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore — Kolkata

May 16: Buddha Purnima – Agartala, Belapur, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Dehradun, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Shimla and Srinagar

List of weekend holidays

May 1: Sunday

May 8: Sunday

May 14: Second Saturday

May 15: Sunday

May 22: Sunday

May 28: fourth saturday

May 29: Sunday

So, if you have bank-related jobs, you should contact your local branch to confirm public holidays in May as per your area to avoid any hassle.

Read all the latest IPL 2022 news, breaking news and live updates here.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.