Public holiday today: banking services closed in these cities, regions; view the full list


Banks are closed for business in most parts of the country on Wednesday April 14, due to Ambedkar Jayanti and a few other local festivals such as Biju Festival, Bohag Bihu, Cheiraoba, Vishu and New Years Day Tamil.

Although bank branches will remain closed, ATMs will remain operational. In order to benefit from banking services, people can use net banking or mobile banking.

Cities and regions where banking services are closed today include Bengaluru, Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Chandigarh, Lucknow, Guwahati, Bhubaneswar, Kanpur, Patna, Thiruvananthapuram, Jaipur, Ranchi, Imphal, Agartala, Kanpur, Nagpur, Dehradun, Gangtok, Kochi, Panaji, Jammu, Srinagar, among others.

Read also : Public Holidays: Banks will be closed on these days, see the full list here

Banking services were also closed in several parts of the country on April 13, due to Gudi Padwa, Ugadi festival, Vaisakhi, Telougou New Year’s Day, Sajibu Nongmapanba (Cheiraoba) and the first day of Navratra.

Meanwhile, banks will remain closed in many other areas on April 15 as well as on New Year’s Eve Bengali, Sarhul, Himachal and Bohag Bihu. However, the holidays differ from state to state. Banks in Assam will remain closed on April 16 due to Bohag Bihu.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has listed the days in April that banks will remain closed, according to its public holiday schedule it has published. RBI puts its list of public holidays in three brackets – Real-time Gross Settlement Holiday, Public Holiday under the Tradable Instruments Act, and Bank Account Closure.

Read also: Ambedkar Jayanti 2021: Date, significance and importance of this day; banks will remain closed on April 14

However, the holidays vary in several states, depending on the festivals observed in the respective states or the notification of certain occasions in those states.

Public holidays are not observed by all banking companies either. The public holidays of the days mentioned will be observed in several regions according to the public holidays declared by the State. Banks will be closed across the country for official holidays.

Read also : Banks will remain closed on these days this week

Below you will find the full list of public holidays in April 2021: –

1. April 1 – Annual closing of bank accounts

April 2 – Good Friday

April 3 – Babu Jagjivan Ram’s birthday

4. April 6 – General elections to the Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu 2021

5. April 13 – Gudhi Padwa / Telugu New Year / Ugadi Festival / Sajibu Nongmapanba (Cheiraoba) / 1st Navratra / Baisakhi

6. April 14 – Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti / Tamil New Year / Vishu / Biju Festival / Cheiraoba / Bohag Bihu

7. April 15 – Himachal Day / Bengali New Year’s Day / Bohag Bihu / Sarhul:

8. April 16 – Bohag Bihu

9. April 21 – Shree Ram Navmi (Chaite Dashain) / Garia Puja

In addition to these public holidays, banks will also remain closed four Sundays and two Saturdays.

April 4 – Sunday

April 10 – Second Saturday

April 11 – Sunday

April 18 – Sunday

April 24 – Fourth Saturday

April 25 – Sunday

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.