Public holiday today because of Buddha Purnima. Check the states where banks will be closed


New Delhi: Banks will remain closed in various parts of the country on Monday, May 16, in observance of Buddha Purnima. According to Reserve Bank of India, banks in Tripura, Belapur, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab and Haryana, Uttarakhand, Jammu, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, New Delhi, Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Srinagar would be closed today,Also read – Banks will be closed for 3 consecutive days from today. See the full list of public holidays in May

It is important to note that public holidays are not observed in all states and differ by state. Also Read – Axis Bank Raises FD Rates; Check the new rates here

According to the rules, all banks in the country, including public, private, foreign, cooperative and regional banks, will be closed on certain days which are notified by the central bank of the country under three categories: the law on negotiable instruments, the days holidays, real estate transactions -Gross settlement leave time and closing of bank accounts. Also Read – ICICI Bank Overtakes SBI to Become Second Most Valuable Bank in India | Details inside

Here is the complete list of public holidays in May 2022

May 2: Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra) — Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram

May 3: Bhagavan Shree Parshuram Jayanti/ Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra)/ Basava Jayanti/ Akshaya Tritiya — Everywhere in India except Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram

May 9: Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore — Calcutta

May 16: Buddha Purnima — Agartala, Belapur, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Dehradun, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Shimla and Srinagar

List of weekend holidays

May 1: Sunday

May 8: Sunday

May 14: second Saturday

May 15: Sunday

May 22: Sunday

May 28: fourth Saturday

May 29: Sunday

The Reserve Bank of India, or RBI, draws up a plan at the beginning of each year under which lenders get their annual leave. On public holidays notified by the RBI, branches of all public, private, foreign banks, cooperative banks and regional banks remain closed.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.