Public holiday today: list of days when banks will remain closed this week


Holiday today: Last week, banks were closed for three consecutive days. Also this week there are several public holidays. On August 15, when India celebrates its 76th Independence Day, banks in the country were closed due to the national holiday. So this week started with a holiday. Even today, banks are closed in some cities due to the Parsi New Year (Shahenshahi). Banks will also remain closed on August 18 and 19 to celebrate Janmashtami.

Holidays this week

August 16: Parsi New Year (Shahenshahi) (Tuesday)

Banks will remain closed in Belapur, Mumbai and Nagpur for the Parsi New Year.

August 18: Janmashtami (Thursday)

Banks will remain closed in Bhubaneswar, Dehradun, Kanpur and Lucknow

August 19: Janmashtami (Shravan Vad-8)/ Krishna Jayanthi (Friday)

Banks will remain closed in Ahmedabad, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Chennai, Gangtok, Jaipur, Jammu, Patna, Raipur, Ranchi, Shillong and Shimla

August 20: Sri Krishna Ashtami (Saturday)

Banks will remain closed in Hyderabad

August 21: Sunday

Other holidays this month

Overall, banks will be closed for 18 days this month.

August 29: Tithi by Srimanta Sankardeva — Guwahati

August 31: Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha)/Ganesh Chaturthi/ Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata/ Vinayakar Chathurthi — Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bangalore, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Nagpur and Panaji

All banks remain closed on Sundays and the second and last Saturdays.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has announced holidays for lenders in these categories – the Negotiable Instruments Act, Holidays, Real Time Gross Settlement Holidays and Closure of Bank Accounts.

Catch all industry news, banking news and updates on Live Mint. Download the Mint News app to get daily market updates.

More less

To subscribe to Mint Bulletins

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.